Tuesday, June 16, 2009

And The Winner Is......

Last night, Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center served as the location for the Oscars of the fashion industry, the 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards. Each year, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) gather to honor the best and brightest in the fashion industry. Comedian Tracey Ullman served as host of this year's ceremony.

This year's award was about embracing fresh, new talent, with newcomers Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte, Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders, Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein and Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler taking the top awards.

First Lady Michelle Obama made an appearance via taped message to accept the Board of Directors' Special Tribute Award for her support of fashion designers. Ralph Lauren won the Popular Vote Award, a new award sponsored by L'Oreal Paris which allowed the public to vote for their favorite fashion designer at WWD.com.

Below is a complete list of the winners and honorees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Menswear Designer of the Year (tie) : Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli for Calvin Klein Collection

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Womenswear: Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Menswear: Tim Hamilton

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Accessory Design: Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Anna Sui

International Award: Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton

Eugenia Sheppard Award for Fashion Journalism: Edward Nardoza, Editor-in-Chief, Women’s Wear Daily

Eleanor Lambert Award: Jim Moore, Creative Director, GQ

Popular Vote Award: Ralph Lauren

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute Award: First Lady Michelle Obama


No comments: